The Ottawa folkies seventh album, No Ghost, comprises mostly quiet, pretty folk tunes with finger-picked guitars and slight harmonies. While there are a few exciting tunes like the galloping, energized Restoration and Crossed Wires, the rocking I Made the Law and the feedbacky opening track Cobbled From Dust really stand out. But it’s the lyrics that really make this album. The Acorn’s multi-instrumentalist singer/guitarist Rolf Klausener is responsible for crafting 11 songs that are truly beautiful but also tragic. Look to the title track where the chorus proclaims: “And the day seems to float again / In the wake of your open arms.”

Related Reads