Campus News Briefs

UW alumnus tapped to head foundation

The University of Winnipeg has appointed UW alumnus Brian Daly as the new CEO of the University of Winnipeg Foundation, according to a university press release. Daly, who graduated in 1986 with Bachelor of Arts in Economics and Political Science from the university, will assume his role Nov. 15. The foundation serves as a primary fundraising arm for UW, managing more than 7,600 donors and building a $50-million endowment fund. Daly has more than 20 years of fundraising experience, including for raising between $18 and $31 million annually as the director of campus-based fundraising at the University of Victoria.

UW launches Arctic Gateway initiative

The University of Winnipeg will launch an Arctic research hub to research the development of Canada’s Arctic Gateway. The Arctic Gateway Initiative (AGI) will be led by the Richardson College for the Environment and focus on themes of trade and transportation corridors, northern and Indigenous peoples, and sustainable communities. It will base its work on the recommendations of the Arctic Gateway Summit, held November 2010.  According to a press release, the AGI will seek to establish a permanent organization, target infrastructure investments, and develop tools to help build successful communities for Arctic peoples.  The first phase will be to consult and engage a range of partners including governments, private sector partners, Indigenous peoples, northern communities, as well as interested faculty and students.

Faculty and staff to receive awards

Two professors and a plumber will be awarded for their outstanding dedication in their fields at the University of Winnipeg’s 95th convocation ceremony Oct. 16. Dr. Michelle Owen will receive the Marsha Hanen Award for Excellence in Creating Community Awareness. Owen, an associate professor of sociology, was instrumental in the creation of the Bachelors program in Disability Studies, a first in the province of Manitoba, and among the first in Canada. Dr. Judith Harris, associate professor of urban studies, will receive the Clarence Atchison Award for Excellence in Community Service. Doug Foster, the university’s plumber, will receive the Campus Sustainability Recognition Award. Foster developed and implemented a bathroom retrofit program that will save the university in excess of one million gallons of water every year — enough to fill the main Pan Am pool.

Wesmen women finish second

The Winnipeg Wesmen finished second with a 2-1 Record at the 2011 BOB FM Women’s Basketball Shootout held Oct. 7 to 9. The Wesmen edged out the Lakehead Thunderwolves 64-63 in the opening game of the tournament, and bested the U of M Bisons 71-58 the following day. The Regina Cougars walloped the Wesment 92-59 in the last day of the tournament, the sole loss for the Wesmen. Regina finished top of the tournament at 3-0. Mackenzie Prasek and Amy Ogidan were named tournament all-stars.

Published in Volume 66, Number 7 of The Uniter (October 12, 2011)

Related Reads